Railways To Set Up Station Directors In All A1 Category Railway Stations

Railways To Set Up Station Directors In All A1 Category Railway Stations


New Delhi: The ministry of railways has revealed that going forward, all the A1 Category Railway Stations (total 75) would be headed by Station Directors, whose job it would be, to ensure that stations function as excellence centres for customers.

Responding to the question raised by the YSRCP leader Sri V.Vijayasai Reddy with regards to setting up of station directors, a written reply statement was laid on the table of the house on November 25, 2016, by the Minister of State for Railways Shri Rajen Gohain.

The reply stated that the Government has decided to appoint station directors at all the A1 category railway stations including those in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. Some of their functions include-

 A1 category stations to have station directors
A1 category stations to have station directors
  • Prompt courteous and hassle-free service to customers.
  • Proper cleanliness and hygiene at the station and stationary trains.
  • Efficient working of booking and reservation office.Punctuality of trains at the station, timely placement and withdrawal
  • of rakes at platforms of the station.
  • Proper functioning, upkeep/repairs of all passenger amenities at the station.
  • Upkeep of passenger enquiry system, display board etc.
  • Ensuring efficient, transparent and customer oriented working of Parcel Office.
  • Monitoring the service of catering/vending stall at the station. · Prompt grievance redressal.
  • Security of passengers.
  • Any other items identified for making station an excellent center for customer.

The statement explained that out of 75 stations, 2 stations namely Vijayawada & Tirupati and 3 stations namely Secunderabad, Hyderabad & Kacheguda fall in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana respectively. A Station Director has already been posted at Secunderabad station in Telangana State, the statement revealed.

The reply also clarified that no extra expenditure will be borne by the Railways as the posts of Station Director will be manned by existing strength of officers without creating any additional post.

Recommended Posts